By Nicky / Last Updated September 11, 2020

FREE

CBackupper - Easy Online Cloud Backup Solution

  • Combine free space of all clouds, get unlimited cloud backup space for free.
  • Fully use idle space to save crucial data with professional backup methods.
  • Cloud to cloud backup, keep all cloud data safe.
  • Never store user data, safe and reliable.

Ready to safeguard your cloud data?

Free Sign Up

Can I delete my Dropbox account?

“I have been using OneDrive and Dropbox at the same time for more free cloud storage. Recently, I upgrade my OneDrive account to a more expensive plan and I have much cloud storage space now. So, I don’t want to use Dropbox anymore. Can I delete my Dropbox account permanently? Thanks for your reply in advance.”

Dropbox

Why need to delete Dropbox account?

As we all know, Dropbox is a cloud storage platform that millions of people use to store and share their files. But sometimes, as mentioned in the case, users may want to abandon your Dropbox account for different reasons. There are some common reasons for deleting your accounts:

  • Dropbox alternatives offer more tools and greater privacy so you decide to use another cloud storage service.

  • Your Dropbox account is for school or work. When you graduate or leave, you want to delete this account.

  • You have registered a new Dropbox account and want to abandon the old account.

How to delete Dropbox account permanently?

If you no longer want to use Dropbox cloud service, how can you delete your Dropbox account permanently? Don’t worry, you can read on the learn how to delete your Dropbox account permanently and completely whenever you want. But before deleting Dropbox account, you should pay attention to following things:

Your files will be deleted from Dropbox servers and can’t access your account on Dropbox.com anymore.

Files you shared in shared folders are still available to folder members but can’t edit files in shared folders.

Your devices like computers, phones, and tablets linked to your account are automatically disconnected from Dropbox and will stop syncing.

If you are a pro user of Dropbox services, then you should make sure that you have canceled your subscription. Doing so will no longer automatically renew your account and no further renewal charges will be applied from that account.

Step-by-step guide to delete you Dropbox account

1. Sign in to your Dropbox account.

2. Click your avatar on the top right-hand corner and select Settings.

Dropbox Setting


3. Scroll down and find the Delete account button at the bottom right-hand corner and press it.

Dropbox Delete Account

4. A new page will open where you will be prompted to re-enter your password and choose your reason for leaving. Then you must press Permanently delete.

Dropbox Permanently Delete

Note: Once you delete your Dropbox account, you'll have no use for the Dropbox apps installed on your devices. You can go ahead and uninstall the desktop client from your Mac or Windows computer, as well as delete the apps from your Android or iOS device.

Additional information you may want to know

Part 1. How to cancel Dropbox subscription

1. Sign in to the Dropbox website with the Dropbox account you wish to unsubscribe and visit the cancel subscription page.

2. Scroll down the page and select Cancel your Plus or Professional subscription. Then, follow the on-screen instructions.

3. You'll be redirected to the Plan tab of your account. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and select the Cancel plan.

4. Provide your reason for wanting to downgrade in the given fields and you'll receive an email confirming your subscription cancellation. Your Dropbox Pro or Professional account is then automatically downgraded to a Basic account at the start of your next billing cycle.

Part 2. How to backup Dropbox files to other cloud drives directly?

There may be many files on your Dropbox, and you must want to backup these files before deleting the account. To save the storage space of your local drive on the computer, you can backup Dropbox files to another cloud drive directly and freely with CBackupper.

CBackupper is a free cloud backup service, which can help you backup Dropbox to Google Drive, OneDrive, FTP/SFTP, etc. quickly and easily. So, you don’t have to download your files from Dropbox to the computer and then re-upload to other cloud drives. Now, follow the steps to use CBackupper.

1. Go to the official site of CBackupper, click "Sign Up" to get your own CBackupper account with an Email account. Then, CBackupper website will send you an email, and you should get into your email to activate your account. Then, back to CBackupper to sign in.

Sign Up

2. Add and authorize your Dropbox account under the “Clouds” tab. Choose the Dropbox icon and click “OK”. Then follow the instructions to go to the Dropbox website to grant access to CBackupper.

Add Cloud

3. Click on the “Tasks” tab at the top of the page, then, click the “Create Task” button to create a backup task.

Create Task

4. Name your backup task, click “Add Source” button to add Dropbox as the backup source. You can select files that you want to back up on Dropbox or choose the entire Dropbox as backup source. Similarly, click “Add Destination” button to add another cloud drive as the backup destination.

Add Source and Destination

5. Then, click "Start Backup” in the lower right corner to perform task.

Dropbox to Google Drive

Conclusion

That’s all about how to delete Dropbox account. No matter what reason you want to delete your account, we suggested you backup your files to another cloud storage with CBackupper before deleting. With it, you can easily protect your files, save your local storage space and effort.