By Kelsey / Last Updated September 7, 2020

FREE

CBackupper - Easy Online Cloud Backup Solution

  • Combine free space of all clouds, get unlimited cloud backup space for free.
  • Fully use idle space to save crucial data with professional backup methods.
  • Cloud to cloud backup, keep all cloud data safe.
  • Never store user data, safe and reliable.

Ready to safeguard your cloud data?

Free Sign Up

Want Google Drive to Stop Sharing?

“There are files which seem to have link sharing on which means anyone can search them in the organization, I need a way to switch off all link sharing.”

“I can't stop sharing using the one method provided, because it wasn't shared to specific people.”

“I need to remove the folder now or what? Is there a workaround?”

This is what I found in multiple forums that everyone has similar problems with Google Drive: how to make Google drive stop sharing?

For work reasons, we will use share a folder, but subsequent work does not need to be shared; Or, when sharing folders with multiple people, resulting in software crashes, etc. At this time, how do you stop Google Drive Sharing? And is there any other folders management method? If you want to know the answer, please read on.

What’s the Google Drive Share Folder?

By default, your files on Google Drive are private until you decide to share them. The ability to easily share folders with other users is one of the most useful features of Google Drive. So what can Google Drive Share Folder do for you?

Googledrive Shared With Me

You can share the files and folders that you store in Google Drive with anyone. When you share from Google Drive, you can control whether people can edit, comment on, or only view the file. When you share content from Google Drive, the Google Drive program policies apply.

But this also brings some problems, such as the inability to update quickly. Storage is counted against the person who uploaded the file, not the owner of the folder. If you share or unshare folders with a lot of files or subfolders, it might take time before all permissions change. If you change a lot of edit or view permissions at once, it might take time before you see the changes.

These issues caused by Google Drive folder sharing, like system crashes or inability to update quickly can often annoy you, so you need Google Drive stop sharing folder if necessary. This tutorial below will show you how Google Drive stop sharing folder.

How to Stop Sharing a Google Drive Folder Effortlessly?

4 helpful methods and 3 frequently asked questions you may concern are listed below. Find the most suitable one for you.

Method 1. Stop Sharing

1. Open the interface for Google Drive.

2. Select a file or folder.

Googledrive Select Folder

3. Right-click Share or click Share icon.

Select Share

4. At the bottom right of the "Share with others" window, click Advanced.

Select Share With And Advanced

5. Next to the person you want to stop sharing with, click Delete icon.

Select Delete

6. Click Save Changes.

Method 2. Stop Link Sharing to a Folder

When you stop link sharing to a folder or a file, the only people who can still see the folder or file will be you and people whose names or email addresses you share with.

1. Open the interface for Google Drive.

2. Open or select a folder.

3. Click Share.

4. Next to "Anyone with the link", click the Down Arrow down.

Click Down Arrow

5. Click More.

6. Click the circle next to "Off - Specific people."

Select Off Specific People

7. Click Save.

8. Click Done.

Method 3. Delete a Shared Folder

If you delete a shared folder that you own:

  • People that can view, comment, or edit can make a copy of the folder until you permanently delete it.

  • To permanently delete the folder, click the folder in your trash, and click Delete forever.

If you delete a shared folder that you don’t own:

  • The file will be removed from your Drive, but other collaborators can still access it.

  • To get the file back, open a link to the folder and then Folder and then Add to My Drive.

Method 4. Remove All Sharing from Google Drive

When you feel that sharing files poses a serious threat to your data security, removing all sharing from Google Drive can be an option for you.

1. Find files shared with others on the My Drive page (the share icon has a share icon).

Find The Folder Shard

2. Select multiple files by pressing CONTROL and using the left mouse button to select files to add.

Select All Sharing

3. Right-click Share or click Share icon.

Click Share

4. Repeat the above three methods to remove all sharing in batches.

Frequently Asked Questions about Google Drive Sharing

Stopping Google Drive sharing may not simple stuff for some people. Here are some frequently asked questions that may be helpful.

#1. What happens when you unshare a Google Doc?

When you unshare a Google Doc, anyone you've unshared it with will have their permissions revoked immediately. This means they won't be able to edit or comment. If you've locked the document, they'll still be able to read it until they refresh the page. But once they do refresh, their access will be gone.

#2. How to change sharing permissions in Google Drive?

  • On your computer, go to drive.google.com.

  • Select the folder that you want to change permissions.

Googledrive Select Folder

  • At the top right, right-click Share or Share icon.

Select Share

  • Click Advanced.

Select Advanced

  • To the right of the person's name, click the Down arrow.

Click Down Arrow

  • Click the permissions option you want to change.

Change Permission

  • Click Save changes.

#3. How to remove myself from Google Drive shared folder?

If someone shared a file or folder with you that you don't want to see anymore, you will want to remove yourself from Google Drive shared folder.

  • Find the folder you want to be removed from.

  • "Sharing" and "Details" appear to the right of my folders. Choose "Share".

  • Scroll down to your name & click on the " . . ." that follows your name.

  • Click "Remove".

Select Remove

Bonus Tip: Backup Google Drive to CBackupper Avoid Problems

When you are worried about the problems caused by Google Drive folder sharing, here is a way for you to manage files efficiently and simply, and you needn’t Google Drive stop sharing folder.

CBackupper is a free cloud backup tool that effectively and securely manages your files, it can put different cloud drives together and manage multiple clouds in one platform with just one login. And what are the characteristics of CBackupper?

CBackupper Main Page

  • Cloud-to-cloud Backup

Cloud-to-cloud backup is to transfer the data in the cloud disk to another cloud disk (temporarily supports Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, FTP/SFTP) through CBackupper. It does not use the computer as a transmission medium, so it will not occupy the computer's memory and network resources.

It can prevent cloud disk data loss, it is a precautionary measure against Google Drive sharing folder crash, and it adds a security lock to the cloud disk data.

  • Schedule Backup

The schedule backup function of CBackupper can prevent forgetting to back up important data, you can customize the daily, weekly, and monthly backup schedules. In this way, you don't have to worry about forgetting the backup, you can update your files in time without worrying about the update speed. Only need a one-click setting, you can easily back up without turning on the computer.

  • Combination Cloud

Multi-cloud storage management can be combined into a larger backup space for free. When something goes wrong with Google Drive. It will take you a long time to get how to fix errors like "Google Drive Access Denied".

If your Google Drive is not working properly and you urgently need your files, CBackupper can be used as a Google Drive client replacement tool (the same applies to other supported cloud storage).

Conclusion

Seeing this, the article is over. Maybe you read this article to solve the problems caused by Google Drive folder sharing. I hope you have found out how Google Drive stop sharing folder and solve your troubles. If you are still worried about the use of Google Drive or other cloud storage, you can try CBackupper, a completely free cloud backup.